Bridal Portraits

20111006-122904.jpg

I never had any intention of getting bridals done. It’s just not my thing. And kind of seems vain to take pictures of just you for the purpose of having it displayed in a ginormous picture frame at your wedding.

But then I met Nadia, my fondant cake wedding dress, and decided, okay maybe this bridal thing isn’t so crazy. But I decided that so late in the game. Like, last week. So I had to scramble to find a non-cliché location. And in Dallas, that’s pretty impossible. If you Google “Dallas bridal locations,” you get about 1,000 results for the same two places.

The other reason I didn’t want a traditional place to shoot was because I was also planning on shooting in two dresses. One – the fondant cake dress, and two – my mom’s hanbok, which is a traditional Korean garment. We are not planning on incorporating the Korean tea ceremony at our wedding, so I thought shooting in the dress would be a nice tribute for my parents. Plus, the hanbok I picked was one that was custom made for my mother for my grandfather’s 70th birthday, so it has double the significance.

Luckily, I remembered the Delaney Vineyards from a previous wedding I attended. And, they were available with only a three day warning! Rows and rows and rows of vines (a lot of dead vines I might add) but all outside and all perfect for the hippy-dippy-barefoot-natural-lighting look I had in mind.

Unfortunately, I ended up not looking very casual. It’s hard to when your hair is styled to be in a high fashion editorial magazine, and not meant for wind and sun and natural elements outside. The girl that was supposed to style my hair called in sick (I know!) and I got paired with a stylist that only does high fashion photo shoots. He took one look at my dress and made this phenomenal architectural ball thing on the side of my head. Which really did go well with my fondant cake dress. But you know, the exact opposite of what I had in mind, but I ran out of time to tell him to change it.

But I survived the day and the shoot so here’s hoping that the lovely location plus my magical photographer will equal blog-worthy pictures.

This entry was posted in Bridal Portraits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

