Chicago

20111013-082429.jpg

Last Friday we flew into Chicago for Richie’s first marathon. What a city.

This post will not be wedding driven, but one dedicated to bragging about my fiancé as he got to cross a major thing off his bucket list. (Plus, in his prep, he picked an ultimate challenge to get in crazy shape for the wedding.)

20111014-062323.jpg

Before the race we had some down time to explore and take in some activities. One of my favorite places to eat was a place called Quartino, and it had the most amazing Italian tapas and fun atmosphere. We don’t have anything close to that in Dallas.

20111014-062739.jpg

Then we got to do the one thing I’ve always wanted to do if visiting Chicago and that was to go to Second City – a really funny sketch comedy/improv theater. They even put us front and center.

20111014-063032.jpg

We had an amazing time, and I got to support him as he accomplished a major feat as he ran for the charity UPS for DownS. This is the United Parent Support for Down Syndrome, a non-profit, parent-driven organization that offers support, education and encouragement for parent, families and anyone one else who loves and cares for those with Down Syndrome. A really great organization.

His sister even flew out to surprise him and we were able to track and stalk him on miles 5, 10 and 19. I had no idea what hard work it is to strategize to track a runner.

I’m so proud of him as he was able to finish the marathon and cross that off his bucket list. Even though I think he’s crazy and why would you voluntarily run 26.2 miles and put yourself through that torture? But I support him 100%. And if he wants to do another one, perhaps I can sway him to choose Hawaii so we can make a vacation out of it.

20111014-063744.jpg

Regardless, through it all he has dropped a crazy amount of poundage for the wedding and is looking all svelt. I, on the other hand, who hates to sweat, have managed to hold on to the LB’s this entire time. And I have three weeks to go.

Tonight I fly out to Orlando to meet him as he works an event this weekend. The sole purpose of flying out there is so that I can go to Hogwarts. I’ve been geeking out all week.

And since we’ve been out of town every weekend I have no idea when I’ll have time to wrap up all my details. There is still so much left to do and I’m being stupid stubborn and refuse to cross any projects off.

I need six more months. Sigh. Must go pack.

This entry was posted in Cities and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

